MotoGP: 10 More Years in Assen

The Motul TT Assen is one of the most historic rounds for the MotoGP World Championship and the relationship will continue through the year 2026.

TT Assen Circuit
The Motul TT Assen continues to be one of the most historic rounds for the MotoGP World Championship. This year marks the first time that a race will be held on a Sunday at the track, and it is also the 250th race since the four-stroke MotoGP class was introduced in 2002.©Motorcyclist

As the teams prepare for the eighth round of competition, MotoGP has announced that World Championship racing will continue for 10 more years.

Assen has been a part of the World Championship since it came into existence in 1949, the only circuit to have been a part of the series during each of its 68 years. The original circuit was used until 1954 and measured 16.54km, reduced to 7.7km in 1955 and then to 6.1km in 1984. 2006 saw the historic track become the circuit it is in 2016, 4.5km of history and high-speed action.

Change continues for Assen in 2016 as this is the first time that the race will be held on a Sunday. The time of the race and the layout of the track may change but Assen’s position on the calendar will not. With this renewed relationship between Dorna and the Dutch track, the MotoGP World Championship will continue to visit the TT Circuit Assen for at least the next 10 years, ensuring its place as the longest standing circuit on the calendar.

Dorna Sport CEO
Dorna Sport CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta and Arjan Bos, President of the Board St Circuit Drenthe.©Motorcyclist

“It’s a big pleasure for us," said Dorna Sport CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta. "Assen has been present since the beginning in 1949. It’s really fantastic and a big honour to renew with the circuit of Assen for the next ten years. As you know, normally we renew for five years but in this case due to the investments the circuit is ready to make to improve, they need the consistency and we’ve made the expectation. We’re extremely happy to do this; it’s an important announcement. Assen has always been an incredible partner and this is the 25th time with the FIM, Dorna, IRTA and MSMA system that the championship has run here. It will be at least 35 now and I want to say thank you to all of the circuit and their board, it’s been a very easy agreement to make.”

Arjan Bos, President of the Board St Circuit Drenthe said, “Of course we are very happy too, the cooperation of Dorna and the TT circuit has always been very good. To us it’s important to have a longer duration in the contract, till 2026 is a long period but we want to invest in the next five, six, seven years almost 16 million Euros. We want to upgrade our stands, hospitality and safety. Very happy and proud with this ten year contract and thank you.”

Assen 2015 first lap
Among the current riders, Valentino Rossi has been most successful at Assen with a total of nine victories, seven in MotoGP and one each in the 250cc and 125cc classes. The Doctor won the 2015 Dutch TT after qualifying on pole position.©Motorcyclist