World Superbike, Aprilia Racing Celebrate 25th Anniversaries | By the Numbers

Silver Bullets

**WORDS: Aaron Frank **

PHOTOS: Aprilia & Ducati

[ Britain's Cal Fogarty won 59 World Superbike races en route to four world titles (1994, '95, '98, '99), making him the most successful rider in series history.

1988 Year the inaugural World Superbike season commenced, with Italian Davide Tardozzi winning the frst race at England's Donington Park on a Bimota.

6 Number of Americans to win SBK titles: Fred Merkel ('88-'89), Doug Polen ('91-'92), Scott Russell ('93), John Kocinski ('97), Colin Edwards (2000, '02) and Ben Spies ('09).

3 Occasions on which the SBK circus visited Brainerd, Minnesota ('89-'91).

1990 Year Frenchman Raymond Roche won the SBK title—the frst of 14 for Ducati.

1 Races won by Japan's Makoto Tamada in '02. Either Colin Edwards or Troy Bayliss won the other 25, with the former taking the title by a scant 11 points.

3 Generations of Ducati Superbike (996, 999 and 1098) that Bayliss rode to championships (in '01, '06 and '08). With

[ Colin Edwards

94 podiums in 152 races, the Australian is one of the winningest riders in series history.

1000cc Displacement limit for all motorcycles enacted in '03 to end the V-twins' advantage. Australian Suzuki pilot Troy Corser won the frst title on a 1000cc four two years later.

1200cc The new displacement limit for twin-cylinder motorcycles enacted in '08. Weight penalties and intake restrictor plates have also been used.

23 Brit James Toseland's age in '04 when he became the youngest rider to win the SBK title.

2008 Year the SBK series returned to America at Miller Motorsports Park in Salt Lake City, Utah.

14 Wins for Ben Spies en route to the '09 title. He also set a record 11 poles that season.

[ Ben Spies


8-30-87 Date on which Italian Loris Reggiani won the San Marino 250cc Grand Prix at Misano on the AF1, Aprilia's frst GP victory.

1992 Year Italian Alessandro Gramigni won the 125cc World Championship, Aprilia's first international crown.

16 Number of years between Italian Max Biaggi giving Aprilia its frst 250cc GP title in '94 and its frst SBK title in '10.

10 125cc world titles won by Aprilia, one more than in the 250cc GP class.

3 Seasons ('02-'04) Aprilia participated in the premier MotoGP class. The winless RS3 Cube is best remembered for becoming a ball of fire beneath Texan Colin

[ Marco Simoncelli


420 Record constructor points earned by the Aprilia RSA 125 in '11, when it won 16 of 17 races. The same machineearned 410 points in '07.

2 Consecutive 250cc GP titles won by Jorge Lorenzo for Aprilia ('06-'07).

9 Race wins and poles captured by Lorenzo in '07, making him the all-time winningest Spanish 250cc GP rider ahead of Dani Pedrosa and Sito Pons.

294 GPs won by Aprilia (by the end of 2011), surpassing MV Agusta to become the most successful European marque in World Championship racing, second only to Honda.