German Grand Prix Race Results

Two-Time Champion Marc Marquez takes his second victory of the season in a Repsol Honda 1-2 finish.

Repsol Honda Team's Marc Marquez capped a dominant weekend at Sachsenring by winning the GoPro Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland ahead of teammate Dani Pedrosa, the two-time MotoGP World Champion extending his run of success at the German circuit to six successive victories.

When Marquez came here a year ago, he was chasing his 9th consecutive win of the season. At this point in 2015 Marquez's title hopes are weak but the champion's desire to win is anything but. Now that Marquez appears to be back on form, he's showing no signs of making things easy for the Movistar Yamaha duo of Jorge Lorenzo and current points leader Valentino Rossi in the second half of the season. "From the beginning," said Marquez, "I felt good and when I had the gap I just tried to manage it. I'm happy because this weekend we've been always first and it has been a long time since I had that. It's a good result to go on holidays with, but I want to keep getting better."

Starting on pole position, Marquez lost out to Lorenzo at the start of the race and held second place for the first few laps. On lap five, Marquez passed Lorenzo and never looked back. Underlining his victory at Sachsenring, Marquez set a new Circuit Lap Record of 1'21.530 on lap 10 and crossed the finish line in 41'01.087 – the shortest ever overall race time at Sachsenring.

Pedrosa, who also has a good record on the German track, took a solid second place, finishing 2.226 seconds behind Marquez. Before the race he said that if he could get a good start and stay at the front for the first few laps, it would make all the difference. However, Pedrosa said the turning point came at the halfway point. "When the tank emptied at the middle of the race I was comfortable and I went straight past Jorge," said Pedrosa. "Then I went about catching Rossi but he wasn't easy to pass. On corner exit the Yamaha is strong. Then I made the move and had to push at the end. I had to push a little more than him as he was really trying!"

Rossi took the final podium place three seconds further behind Marquez and Pedrosa. The Doctor's third place effort was still good enough to increase his championship lead. Said Rossi, ”I think that Dani had something in his pocket - I was at the limit with a constant rhythm, but at one point he was able to pull out 2 very fast laps, I tried to battle but he was too quick. Anyway it's another podium, I gained 3 points on Jorge [Lorenzo] which is important for the championship. We know that we always suffer here against the Hondas, so we'll wait for a better track for the M1!"

With Rossi's teammate Lorenzo coming in 4th place, the Movistar Yamaha duo did enough to maintain their positions at the top of the championship standings, with Rossi enjoying a 13 point lead over Lorenzo.

Andrea Iannone (Ducati Team) claimed 5th position, followed by British riders Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) and Cal Crutchlow (CWM-LCR Honda) in 6th and 7th respectively.

Pol Espargaró (Monster Yamaha Tech 3), Danilo Petrucci (Octo Pramac Racing) and Aleix Espargaró (Team Suzuki Ecstar) complete the top 10.

German Grand Prix Race Results
1. Marc MARQUEZ (93), Repsol Honda Team HONDA
2. Dani PEDROSA (26) Repsol Honda Team HONDA
3. Valentino ROSSI (46) Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA
4. Jorge LORENZO (99) Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA
5. Andrea IANNONE (29) Ducati Team DUCATI
6. Bradley SMITH (38) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA
8. Pol ESPARGARO (44) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA
9. Danilo PETRUCCI (9) Pramac Racing DUCATI
10. Aleix ESPARGARO (41) Team Suzuki Ecstar SUZUKI
11. Maverick VIÑALES (25) Team Suzuki Ecstar SUZUKI
12. Yonny HERNANDEZ (68) Pramac Racing DUCATI
13. Hector BARBERA (8) Avintia Racing DUCATI
14. Alvaro BAUTISTA (19) Aprilia Racing Team Gresini APRILIA
15. Jack MILLER (43) CWM LCR Honda HONDA
16. Nicky HAYDEN (69) Aspar MotoGP Team HONDA
17. Eugene LAVERTY (50) Aspar MotoGP Team HONDA
18. Alex DE ANGELIS (15) Octo IodaRacing Team ART
19. Loris BAZ (76) Athinà Forward Racing YAMAHA
20. -Michael LAVERTY (70) Aprilia Racing Team Gresini APRILIA

Not Classified
Scott REDDING (45) EG 0,0 Marc VDS HONDA (first lap)
Claudio CORTI (71) Athinà Forward Racing YAMAHA (8 laps)
Andrea DOVIZIOSO (4) Ducati Team DUCATI (16 laps)
Hiroshi AOYAMA (7) AB Motoracing (26 laps)
Mike DI MEGLIO (63) Avintia Racing DUCATI (27 laps)