MotoGP: Lorenzo, Marquez and Rossi On Front Row At Czech Republic GP

Movistar Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo smashes the lap record at the Automotodrom Brno to take pole position at the bwin Grand Prix Ceské Republiky.

Two-time MotoGP World Champion Jorge Lorenzo secured his second pole of the season with Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez and championship leader Valentino Rossi completing the front row.

Unlike on Friday when track temperatures reached over 120 degrees, conditions were almost ideal for Q2 at the iconic Brno track. A track temperature of 107 degrees and a light breeze meant grip levels were at their optimum, and the thousands of fans at the 3.2-mile Autodromo Brno were treated to one of the most exciting qualifying sessions of the year. As always, the outcome came down to the final few seconds of the session when riders popped in a fresh softer option rear tire and headed out on their last flying laps.

Lorenzo had already broken Cal Crutchlow’s 2013 pole record in FP3 (1’55.527), and after his first run found himself on top of the timesheets with a 1’55.238. Things would just get better for the Spaniard on his second run, as he managed to set the fastest ever lap by a motorcycle around the circuit, and the first under the 1’55 barrier. His record-breaking 1’54.989 securing his 31st pole position in his MotoGP career in the process. Lorenzo is aiming to take his first win at Brno since 2010 as he looks to close the 9-point gap in the standings to his teammate Rossi.

Marc Marquez followed up his back-to-back wins at Indianapolis and the Sachsenring by qualifying in second. The reigning MotoGP World Champion missing out on pole by just 0.074s as he also decimated the previous pole record.  Marquez won at Brno in 2013, although last year he finished fourth, and is currently third in the championship standings having closed the gap to Rossi at the top to 56 points.

Current championship leader Valentino Rossi had to dig deep in an effort to cure his qualifying woes, but it paid off and he will start Sunday’s race from the back of the front row. The Italian had completed a Yamaha 1-2 behind Lorenzo in FP3 & FP4, but could not quite match the pace of his teammate in Q2, finishing 0.364s behind Lorenzo. Rossi will be delighted to be starting from the front row after conceding too much time to Lorenzo and Marquez at the start of the Indianapolis GP when he had to start from eighth.

Ducati Team’s Andrea Iannone (+0.401s) stuck with the older version of his GP15 to set the fourth fastest time on his very last lap. The Italian had received an updated version of the Desmosedici for Brno with a new engine and fairing, but opted for the older model for the entirety of the session.

Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Bradley Smith was the leading Satellite rider, and will start from the middle of the second row after putting in his best qualifying performance of the season. Smith has shown an impressive race pace throughout the weekend and found himself just 0.471s behind Lorenzo in fifth.

Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso (+0.946s) was almost a further 0.5s back as he made use of his updated GP15 to secure sixth on the grid. Maverick Viñales on the Team Suzuki Ecstar GSX-RR once again out qualified his more experienced teammate and will start from seventh.

Pol Espargaro (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) had earlier made it through as the fastest rider from Q1 and will start from eighth. A rather battered and bruised Dani Pedrosa on the Repsol Honda recovered from his crash in FP2 to set the ninth fastest time.

CWM LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow had to settle for tenth, after he was also forced to battle it out in Q1. The British rider will start from the front of the fourth row, with Avintia Racing’s Hector Barbera in eleventh on the leading Open class bike after he made it directly through to Q2 for the first time this season. Octo Pramac Racing’s Yonny Hernandez, who also made it through automatically to Q2, completes the fourth row.

Scott Redding will start from 14th on the grid after failing to make it through to Q2, while Irishman Eugene Laverty (Aspar MotoGP Team) is the leading Open Honda rider in 20th.

MotoGP Qualifying Results From BRNO
1. Jorge LORENZO (99) Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA
2. Marc MARQUEZ (93), Repsol Honda Team HONDA
3. Valentino ROSSI (46) Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA
4. Andrea IANNONE (29) Ducati Team DUCATI
5. Bradley SMITH (38) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA
6. Andrea DOVIZIOSO (4) Ducati Team DUCATI
7. Maverick VIÑALES (25) Team Suzuki Ecstar SUZUKI
8. Pol ESPARGARO (44) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA
9. Dani PEDROSA (26) Repsol Honda Team HONDA
11. Hector BARBERA (8) Avintia Racing DUCATI
12. Yonny HERNANDEZ (68) Pramac Racing DUCATI
13. Danilo PETRUCCI (9) Pramac Racing DUCATI
14. Scott REDDING (45) EG 0,0 Marc VDS HONDA
15. Aleix ESPARGARO (41) Team Suzuki Ecstar SUZUKI
16. Stefan BRADL (6) Aprilia Racing Team Gresini APRILIA
17. Mike DI MEGLIO (63) Avintia Racing DUCATI
18. Loris BAZ (76) Athinà Forward Racing YAMAHA
19. Alvaro BAUTISTA (19) Aprilia Racing Team Gresini APRILIA
20. Eugene LAVERTY (50) Aspar MotoGP Team HONDA
21. Nicky HAYDEN (69) Aspar MotoGP Team HONDA
22. Jack MILLER (43) CWM LCR Honda HONDA
23. Alex DE ANGELIS (15) Octo IodaRacing Team ART
24. Claudio CORTI (71) Athinà Forward Racing YAMAHA
25. Karel ABRAHAM (17) AB Motoracing HONDA