MotoGP: Australian GP Qualifying Results From Phillip Island

Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez claims his 30th MotoGP pole position over Ducati Team’s Andrea Iannone and Movistar Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo, with Valentino Rossi starting from seventh.

Marc Marquez©Motorcyclist

Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez took pole position at the Pramac Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix with an incredible display of riding. In near perfect conditions at Phillip Island the Spaniard set a 1'28.364 to clearly show his rivals he is back to full fitness after breaking a bone in his left hand before the Japanese GP.

No one had an answer to the reigning MotoGP World Champion's one-lap pace, despite it being almost half a second slower than Jorge Lorenzo's 2013 Pole Record (1'27.899). After finishing second in FP1 on Friday, Marquez topped every session and his race pace looks ominous at the only track on the MotoGP calendar where he has not scored a point in the premier class. He led the way from the very first lap in Q2 and was never knocked off the top, improving his time on his third run as he made use of a two-stop strategy.

Andrea Iannone©Motorcyclist

Ducati Team's Andrea Iannone (+0.316s) also made use of a two-stop strategy and the extra soft option tire available to him to record only his third front row start of the season. The Italian set an identical time to Movistar Yamaha's Lorenzo, but will start from second due to count back.

Jorge Lorenzo©Motorcyclist

Lorenzo (+0.316s) completes the front row in third, making it 13 front row starts this year. It is actually his worst qualifying performance since his 8th in Assen as Lorenzo also made use of a two-stop strategy. However the two-time MotoGP champion will take heart from the fact the man who is leading him in the title standing by 18 points, Valentino Rossi, will be forced to start from seventh.

Dani Pedrosa©Motorcyclist

Marquez’s teammate Dani Pedrosa (+0.348s) looked like he would be on the front row as the clock ticked down in Q2, but will instead have to start from the front of the second row in fourth. LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow (+0.548s) followed up his excellent third place overall in practice with fifth, his best qualifying result since he started the Indianapolis GP from the same position and it sees him as the leading Satellite rider.

Cal Crutchlow©Motorcyclist

Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Maverick Viñales (+0.568s) continued his excellent weekend and will start from sixth, just 0.02s behind Crutchlow. It was his best qualifying performance since his 2nd at the Catalan GP as the Spaniard made use of the sweet handling of his GSX-RR around the fast and flowing Phillip Island circuit.

Maverick Viñales©Motorcyclist
Valentino Rossi©Motorcyclist

Championship leader Valentino Rossi's recent good run in qualifying came to an end as he put in his worst performance since he claimed 8th at Indianapolis. The Doctor improved his time from practice by over seven-tenths, but it was only good enough for seventh and sees the Doctor start the race from the head of the third row.

Aleix Espargaro©Motorcyclist

Viñales’ teammate Aleix Espargaro will start the race from eighth after making it through from Q1 alongside his brother Pol, who qualified in ninth.

Andrea Dovisioso©Motorcyclist

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) was 10th fastest, with Brits Scott Redding (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) and Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) completing the fourth row, despite the latter becoming the only rider to crash so far throughout the weekend in FP4.

Pol Espargaro©Motorcyclist

Hector Barbera (Avintia Racing) will start from 14th as the leading Open class rider ahead of local hero Jack Miller in 15th (LCR Honda) and Eugene Laverty (Aspar MotoGP Team) in 16th. Nicky Hayden (Aspar MotoGP Team) celebrated the announcement he will be inducted into the MotoGP Hall of Fame at Valencia by qualifying in 20th.

Australian Grand Prix Qualifying Results

  1. Marc MARQUEZ (93), Repsol Honda Team HONDA
  2. Andrea IANNONE (29) Ducati Team DUCATI
  3. Jorge LORENZO (99) Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA
  4. Dani PEDROSA (26) Repsol Honda Team HONDA
  6. Maverick VIÑALES (25) Team Suzuki Ecstar SUZUKI
  7. Valentino ROSSI (46) Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA
  8. Aleix ESPARGARO (41) Team Suzuki Ecstar SUZUKI
  9. Pol ESPARGARO (44) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA
  10. Andrea DOVIZIOSO (4) Ducati Team DUCATI
  11. Scott REDDING (45) EG 0,0 Marc VDS HONDA
  12. Bradley SMITH (38) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 YAMAHA
  13. Danilo PETRUCCI (9) Pramac Racing DUCATI
  14. Hector BARBERA (8) Avintia Racing DUCATI
  15. Jack MILLER (43) CWM LCR Honda HONDA
  16. Eugene LAVERTY (50) Aspar MotoGP Team HONDA
  17. Yonny HERNANDEZ (68) Pramac Racing DUCATI
  18. Alvaro BAUTISTA (19) Aprilia Racing Team Gresini APRILIA
  19. Loris BAZ (76) Athinà Forward Racing YAMAHA
  20. Nicky HAYDEN (69) Aspar MotoGP Team HONDA
  21. Stefan BRADL (6) Aprilia Racing Team Gresini APRILIA
  22. Mike DI MEGLIO (63) Avintia Racing DUCATI
  23. Anthony WEST (13) AB Motoracing HONDA
  24. Toni ELIAS (24) Athinà Forward Racing YAMAHA
  25. Damian CUDLIN (55) E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART