NHRA Midwest Nationals Pro Stock Motorcycle Drag Race Results

Suzuki tops Buell, Victory and Harley-Davidson at Gateway Motorsports Park.

Jerry Savoie, White Alligator Racing Suzuki
Jerry Savoie (White Alligator Racing Suzuki) moves up two spots in the points standings after his win in St. Louis.©Motorcyclist

Madison, IL – Jerry Savoie raced to his first victory of the year Sunday at the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals at Gateway Motorsports Park just outside of St. Louis. This is the 20th event of 24 on the 2016 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule, and the second race of the six-race NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship playoffs.

Savoie raises the Wally
Jerry Savoie raises the Wally after Angelle Sampey trips the redlight in the Midwest final round.©Motorcyclist

Alligator farmer and Pro Stock Motorcycle racer Jerry Savoie rode to his first victory of 2016 with a 6.933 at 189.36 on his White Alligator Racing Suzuki, defeating Angelle Sampey's 6.852 at 195.85 on her Star Racing / Precision Service Equipment Buell in an all-Louisiana final. Sampey left the starting line early and red-lighted, giving Savoie the go-ahead victory. Savoie, who had not won a race since 2015 in Dallas, tallied his fifth career win and second at St. Louis. The victory moved Savoie up to fourth in the points standings.

Chip Ellis, Buell
Buell rider Chip Ellis, coming off of a victory at the Carolina Nationals (see below), was on top of the time chart after Friday qualifying but ultimately slipped to third in the final order behind Krawiec and Sampey.©Motorcyclist

“You go to the finals four times and win one, but out here the competition is so strong and it takes a little bit of luck,” said Savoie, who outlasted veteran Steve Johnson, Matt Smith and rookie Cory Reed in the earlier rounds. “We got some luck in the finals. Losing hurts so bad, but winning feels so good. My team is a great team. Our bike is really consistent and we’ve had some issues, but today was our day.”

Eddie Krawiec, Harley-Davidson
Eddie Krawiec was the Number 1 qualifier after the final qualifying session but could not hold the pace during eliminations. He dropped to fifth in the points standings.©Motorcyclist

Sampey, who won for the first time since 2007 earlier this year in Englishtown, New Jersey, made her third final-round appearance of the season by riding past Angie Smith, Hector Arana and Charlotte winner Chip Ellis. Her Midwest finish moves Sampey to second in points.

Andrew Hines remains the Pro Stock Motorcycle points leader, Ellis dropped to third and Hines’ Harley-Davidson teammate Eddie Krawiec dropped to fifth.

Below are the round-by-round results from the fifth annual AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals at Gateway Motorsports Park:

ROUND ONE – Jerry Savoie, Suzuki, 6.887, 194.77 def. Steve Johnson, Suzuki, 6.926, 191.16; Hector Arana, Buell, 6.948, 194.35 def. Karen Stoffer, Suzuki, 6.977, 192.19; Chip Ellis, Buell, 6.890, 194.66 def. Jim Underdahl, Suzuki, 6.933, 194.07; Angelle Sampey, Buell, 6.873, 194.52 def. Angie Smith, 6.971, 189.98; Cory Reed, Buell, 6.873, 194.24 def. LE Tonglet, Suzuki, 6.911, 193.79; Andrew Hines, Harley-Davidson, 6.911, 193.49 def. Hector Arana Jr, Buell, 6.908, 194.52; Eddie Krawiec, Harley-Davidson, 6.890, 192.19 def. Joe DeSantis, Suzuki, 7.236, 179.92; Matt Smith, 6.940, 192.22 def. Melissa Surber, Buell, Foul - Red Light

QUARTERFINALS – Savoie, 6.889, 194.60 def. M. Smith, 6.897, 191.81; Ellis, 6.895, 194.30 def. Hines, 6.941, 191.73; Reed, 6.921, 192.47 def. Krawiec, 6.925, 191.65; Sampey, 6.882, 195.08 def. Arana, 6.916, 193.96

SEMIFINALS – Savoie, 6.922, 193.68 def. Reed, 7.022, 189.26; Sampey, 6.873, 194.94 def. Ellis, 6.884, 193.93; FINAL -- Savoie, 6.933, 189.36 def. Sampey, Foul - Red Light

Championship Points Standings
1. Andrew Hines, Harley-Davidson (2,260)
2. Angelle Sampey, Buell (2,258)
3. Chip Ellis, Buell (2,243)
4. Jerry Savoie, Suzuki (2,218)
5. Eddie Krawiec, Harley-Davidson (2,184)
6. LE Tonglet, Suzuki (2,138)
7. Hector Arana Jr., Buell (2,115)
8. Hector Arana Sr., Buell (2,107)
9. Cory Reed, Buell (2,105)
10. Matt Smith, Victory (2,096)