San Marino Grand Prix Results
1. Dani PEDROSA (26) Repsol Honda Team HONDA
2. Valentino ROSSI (46) Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA
3. Jorge LORENZO (99) Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YAMAHA
4. Marc MARQUEZ (93), Repsol Honda Team HONDA
5. Maverick VIÑALES (25) Team Suzuki Ecstar SUZUKI
6. Andrea DOVIZIOSO (4) Ducati Team DUCATI
7. Michele PIRRO (51) Ducati Team DUCATI
9. Pol ESPARGARO (44) Monster Tech 3 YAMAHA
10. Alvaro BAUTISTA (19) Aprilia Racing Team Gresini APRILIA
11. Danilo PETRUCCI (9) OCTO Pramac Yakhnich DUCATI
12. Stefan BRADL (6) Aprilia Racing Team Gresini APRILIA
13. Hector BARBERA (8) Avintia Racing DUCATI
14. Eugene LAVERTY (50) Aspar Team MotoGP DUCATI
15. Scott REDDING (45) OCTO Pramac Yakhnich DUCATI
16. Yonny HERNANDEZ (68) Aspar Team MotoGP DUCATI
17. Tito RABAT (53) Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS HONDA

DNF: Aleix ESPARGARO (41) Team Suzuki Ecstar SUZUKI
DNF: Javier FORES (12) Avintia Racing DUCATI
DNF: Alex LOWES (22) Monster Tech 3 YAMAHA

Three-time world champion Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) raced to a stunning victory at Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, leaving rivals Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) and defending MotoGP champion Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) in the dust to take the top podium step for the San Marino Grand Prix. Pedrosa's victory marks the eighth different winner thus far in 2016, an all-time first since the championship began in 1949. Pedrosa accomplished this after starting from eighth on the grid.

San Marino GP winner Dani Pedrosa, Repsol Honda.
San Marino GP winner Dani Pedrosa, Repsol Honda.©Motorcyclist
Jorge Lorenzo at the start of the San Marino Grand Prix.
Jorge Lorenzo at the start of the San Marino Grand Prix.©Motorcyclist

Lorenzo got the jump from pole, leading the field into Turn 1 as the Mallorcan so often does, with front row starter Rossi and Maverick Viñales (Team Suzuki Ecstar) going head-to-head for P2 and the Italian coming out on top. Pedrosa got an incredible start from P8 to move him up into the front group, joining Viñales, Dovizioso and Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) in the battle for P3.

Pedrosa, passing Valentino Rossi to take the lead.
Pedrosa, passing Valentino Rossi to take the lead.©Motorcyclist

Rossi soon struck at the front, setting up teammate Lorenzo at the final corner and pushing the reigning champion wide, taking the lead and leaving Lorenzo and Marquez to chase him down, with Pedrosa the fastest man on track and setting a new lap record. Making a move against his teammate look easy and getting down into the 1:32s, Pedrosa was on the charge.

Lorenzo and Marquez chase for the lead.
Lorenzo and Marquez chase for the lead.©Motorcyclist

Setting his sights on Lorenzo and slicing through, the number 26 fixed his crosshairs on the race leader in Rossi's backyard - then passing the Italian with an aggressive move to sit him up and concentrating on making a gap at the front.

Untouchable and back with a bang, the incredible ride through from P8 was completed as the 'Baby Samurai' shook off a helpless Rossi to cross the line with a healthy margin, as history continues to be made with the eighth different winner in 2016.

Maverick Viñales and Andrea Dovizioso battle for fifth.
Maverick Viñales and Andrea Dovizioso battle for fifth.©Motorcyclist
Cal Crutchlow, LCR Honda
Cal Crutchlow, LCR Honda©Motorcyclist

Marquez suffered a tough race to head over the line in P4, but retains a healthy 43 point lead in the title as the paddock head back to Spanish soil. Maverick Viñales (Team Suzuki Ecstar) completed the top five, beating home rider Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) and temporary teammate Michele Pirro to the honor. Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) had a solid ride as the first independent to cross the line in P8 ahead of Monster Yamaha Tech 3 rider Pol Espargaro, followed by a fantastic showing from Alvaro Bautista in Aprilia Racing Team Gresini's home race as the Spaniard completed the top 10.

Valentino Rossi fans at Misano.
Valentino Rossi fans at Misano.©Motorcyclist

More MotoGP video: