Petersen Automotive Museum to Celebrate Fifty Years of Baja Racing

Petersen Automotive Museum to Celebrate Fifty Years of Baja Racing with Exhibit

The Petersen Automotive Museum will celebrate fifty years of Baja Racing with the summer exhibition BRAVING BAJA: 1000 MILES TO GLORY May 4 through September 2. The Museum will also host a fundraiser dinner and an off-road show Thursday, May 2, at 6 p.m., and Saturday, May 4, at 9:00 a.m. respectively.

See how it all began and learn how the Baja 1000 has evolved over the past 50 years with BRAVING BAJA. Both two-wheeled and four-wheeled racing vehicles are on display in this never-before-seen collection of historic off-road racing vehicles. The fundraiser dinner and off-road show will pay tribute to fifty years of Baja racing, from the daring first timed run by Dave Ekins and Bill Robertson, Jr,. to the technology-rich competition of today. Entry to this special off-road exhibition is free with the standard museum admission.

Tickets are available at To purchase tickets for the fundraiser dinner go to .


Vehicles on exhibition will include-

1962 Honda Scrambler 250 (Bud Ekins)

1963 Triumph Cub

1964 Meyers Manx

1964 Triumph TR6-SC Desert Sled

1969 Husqvarna 500 Twin

1970 DKW 125

1970 Miller Havens VW single-seater (Drino Miller)

1971 Husqvarna 400 Cross (Gunnar Nilsson)

1971 Harley-Davidson

1974 Husqvarna 250CR (Mary McGee)

1975 Honda C&J 440 (replica / Baker-Cannaday/ Bell Honda overall winner)

1975 Rokon Automatic

1960 Bilstein VW Baja Bug (Doug Robertson)

1995 Honda XR228R (Mulder, Johnson, Dunlevey)

2003 Honda XR650R (Mouse McCoy “Dust to Glory”)

2004 Honda XR650R (Winningest Bike in Baja)

2012 Honda CRF450X




More Stories