Yamaha celebrates 50 Grand Prix years at the '200 Miglia di Imola Revival'

In celebration of the 50th anniversary in Grand Prix racing Yamaha will play a main role in the epic '200 miglia di Imola revival' as an official partner of the event. The '200 miglia di Imola' was a unique race meeting organised in the seventies which was successfully welcomed back to Imola in 2010 after a thirty year absence. This year’s edition will be dedicated to motorcycles manufactured before 1980 and as usual will take place at the Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari, Imola from 30 September to the 2nd October 2011.

The long awaited event offers all visitors the opportunity to get up close and personal with the ‘classics’ from one of the golden eras in motorcycle racing. Yamaha will be present with the Yamaha Classic Racing Team, lining up their impressive collection of historic GP machines that will be raced around the Imola track by the likes of Giacomo Agostini, Steve Baker, Phil Read, Chas Mortimer, Dieter Braun and many more. Besides the ‘official’ Yamaha machines many other classics will be paraded on track and several Italian Yamaha clubs will be attending the festival with a display of their most popular models.

Earlier this year Yamaha Factory riders Jorge Lorenzo and Ben Spies were proudly competing in the Grand Prix of Assen TT and U.S. on the special red and white 'WGP 50th Anniversary' YZR-M1, a livery that has also been recently presented for the R1, R6, FZ8, R125, TZR50 and Aerox 50, and for this unique occasion Yamaha Grand Prix heroes Agostini, Baker and Read will perform a special series of laps on the anniversary YZR-M1; something not to be missed.

Besides the track action Yamaha is staging an exclusive exhibition dedicated to fifty years of Grand Prix racing, where a selection of Yamaha’s most legendary Grand Prix motorcycles will be on display; from the world-title winning 250cc RD56 as raced by Phil Read in the mid-sixties up to the current world champion machine: Jorge Lorenzo’s 2010 YZR-M1. Giacomo Agostini, Steve Baker and Phil Read can be spotted regularly at this Expo, as they will be representing Yamaha as special guests.

For further information regarding the event schedule and for track lap prices and ticket pre-sales, please visit the official event website www.200miglia.com

Historical Yamaha Grand Prix machines on display at the '200 Miglia di Imola Revival':

1965 RD56 250 - Phil Read
1966 RA97 125 - Bill Ivy
1972 YZ635 250 - Jarno Saarinen
1973 YZR350 - Giacomo Agostini
1975 YZR500 - Giacomo Agostini
1978 YZR500 - Kenny Roberts
1983 YZR250 - Carlos Lavado
1984 YZR500 - Eddie Lawson
1992 YZR500 - Wayne Rainey
1993 TZ250F - Tetsuya Harada
2001 YZR500 - Norick Abe
2004 YZR-M1 - Valentino Rossi
2008 YZR-M1 - Valentino Rossi
2010 YZR-M1 - Jorge Lorenzo