World Champions Recognized At 2016 FIM Awards Gala

Americans Ryan Dungey, Colton Haaker, and Greg Hancock receive individual honors in Berlin.

2016 FIM Gala
More than 30 individual champions, 11 team champions, 7 legends, and 3 special prizewinners honored at the seventh annual FIM Gala Ceremony in Berlin, Germany.©Motorcyclist

Americans Ryan Dungey, Colton Haaker, and Greg Hancock were among more than 30 individual champions, 11 team champions, seven legends, and three special prizewinners honored on Sunday night at the seventh annual FIM Gala Ceremony in Berlin, Germany.

Ryan Dungey
Ryan Dungey©Motorcyclist
Ryan and Lindsey Dungey
Minnesota-native Ryan Dungey was joined by his wife, Lindsay, in Berlin to accept his second AMA Supercross FIM world champion medal.©Motorcyclist

While SuperEnduro was Haaker’s first world title, Dungey was recognized for winning a second successive Supercross championship. The 46-year-old Hancock, meanwhile, racked up his fourth speedway title over two decades of top-tier professional racing.

Greg Hancock
Still sliding sideways: 46-year-old Greg Hancock brought his fourth speedway world title back home to California.©Motorcyclist
Greg Hancock
Greg Hancock©Motorcyclist

In the team category, Taylor Robert, Kailub Russell, Thad Duvall, and Layne Michael took top honors at the 91st annual FIM International Six Days Enduro, America's first-ever world trophy class victory.


Husqvarna factory rider Colton Haaker
Husqvarna factory rider Colton Haaker can do nearly anything on a dirtbike. His father, John, was an ISDE gold medalist.©Motorcyclist

2016 FIM World Champions
* FIM MotoGP World Champion: Marc Marquez (Spain)
* FIM Moto2 World Champion: Johann Zarco (France)
* FIM Moto3 World Champion: Brad Binder (South Africa)
* FIM Moto3 Junior World Champion: Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Italy)
* FIM Superbike World Champion: Jonathan Rea (Northern Ireland)
* FIM Supersport World Champion: Kenan Sofuoglu (Turkey)
* FIM X-Trial/Trial World Champion: Toni Bou (Spain)
* FIM Speedway Grand Prix World Champion: Greg Hancock (USA)
* FIM Long Track World Champion: Erik Riss (Germany)
* FIM Under 21 Speedway World Champion: Max Fricke (Australia)
* FIM Women's Trial World Champion: Emma Bristow (Great Britain)
* FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Champion: Pablo Quintanillla (Chile)
* FIM SuperEnduro World Champion: Colton Haaker (USA)
* FIM Junior Enduro World Champion: Giacomo Redondi (Italy)
* FIM E1 Enduro World Champion: Eero Remes (Finland)
* FIM E2 Enduro/Enduro GP World Champion: Matthew Phillips (Australia)
* FIM E3 Enduro World Champion: Steve Holcombe (Great Britain)
* FIM Snowcross World Champion: Adam Renheim (Sweden)
* FIM S1GP Supermoto World Champion: Thomas Chareyre (France)
* AMA Supercross FIM World Champion: Ryan Dungey (USA)
* FIM Freestyle Motocross World Champion: Maikel Melero (Spain)
* FIM 85cc Junior Motocross World Champion: Rene Hofer (Austria)
* FIM 125cc Junior Motocross World Champion: Jago Geerts (Belgium)
* FIM Sidecar Motocross World Champion: Jan Hendrickx and Ben Van den Bogaart (Belgium)
* FIM Women's Motocross World Champion: Livia Lancelot (France)
* FIM MX2 World Champion: Jeffrey Herlings (Holland)
* FIM MXGP World Champion: Tim Gajser (Slovenia)
* FIM Sidecar World Champions Pekka Paivarinta and Kirsi Kainulainen (Finland)
* FIM Ice Speedway Gladiators World Champion: Dmitry Khomitsevich (Russia)
* FIM Endurance World Champion: Lucas Mahias (France)
* FIM Team Ice Speedway Gladiators World Champions: Dmitry Koltakov, Dmitry Khomitsevich, Nikolay Krasnikov (Russia)
* FIM Team Long Track World Champions: Jannick de Jong, Theo Pijper, Dirk Fabriek Romano Hummel (The Netherlands)
* FIM Team Speedway Under 21 World Champions: Piotr Pawlicki, Bartosz Zmarzlik, Maksym Drabik, Pawel Przedpelski (Poland)
* FIM Speedway World Cup Winners: Piotr Pawlicki, Bartosz Zmarzlik, Krzysztof Kasprzak, Krystian Pieszczek, Patrick Dudek (Poland)
* FIM Women's Trial des Nations: Emma Bristow, Rebekah Cook, Donna Fox (Great Britain)
* FIM Trial des Nations: Toni Bou, Adam Raga, Albert Cabestany (Spain)
* FIM ISDE World Trophy: Taylor Robert, Kailub Russell, Thad Duvall, Layne Michael (USA)
* FIM ISDE Junior World Trophy: Albin Elowson, Mikael Persson, Jesper Borjesson (Sweden)
* FIM ISDE Women's Trophy: Jessica Gardiner, Tayla Jones, Jemma Wilson (Australia)
* FIM Supermoto of Nations: Thomas Chareyre, Laurent Fath, Sylvain Bidart (France)
* FIM Motocross of Nations: Benoit Paturel, Gautier Paulin, Romain Febvre (France)
* FIM Endurance Team World Champion: Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (Vincent Philippe, Anthony Delhalle, Etienne Masson)

Marc Marquez at FIM Gala
Marc Marquez won the MotoGP crown, his fifth world title. Gavin Emmett (interviewing Marquez), Lisa Leyland, and Matthew Roberts hosted the FIM Gala.©Motorcyclist
Marc Marquez
Marc Marquez©Motorcyclist

In addition to the world champions who received their awards, Per-Olof Serenius, Tomo Igata, Gilles Burgat, Heinz Kinigadner, Gualtiero Brissoni, Jacky Vimond, and Luigi Taveri were recognized as “Legends.”

The FIM also made four special presentations:
* Fair Play Trophy: Laia Sanz
* Environmental Award: Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
* Road Safety Award: Federazione Motociclistica Italiana (FMI)
* Woman in Motorcycling Award: AMA Get Women Riding Campaign