Ryan Dungey 2nd in Supercross Title Hunt

Ryan Dungey has moved to second place in the AMA/ FIM World Supercross Championship after racing to second place in Saturday night's 14th round at Edwards Jones Dome in St. Louis.

Rockstar Makita Suzuki's defending Champion and his RM-Z450 are now just five points away from the leader Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki) with three more rounds to go; and 75 points up for grabs.

Dungey and his Suzuki were strong all day in front of a crowd of almost 60,000. After scoring the fifth fastest time in the afternoon timed practice, Dungey pulled the holeshot and walked away with the win in his heat race. Another great start on his RM-Z in the Main put him in second place going into the first turn. After a bit of shuffling, he dropped one position in the first lap but was able to power his way back to second by lap three.

"I think that all in all, it was a pretty good day," said Dungey. "Practice went really well. We were fighting a few areas, but my whole Rockstar Makita Suzuki team went to work and made a few changes that made me really comfortable out there on the track. My Suzuki got me off to a great start in my heat race and I was able to get the holeshot and come away with a win. That helped a lot and gave me a good gate pick going into the Main Event.

"I got another good start, which put me in second. I got passed and put into third but was able to get back to second in the next lap. I'm really thankful for a second on the night. I'm focusing on just being really consistent and smart. A big thanks to my Rockstar Makita Suzuki team and the Yoshimura guys - They all have done a great job. We're heading to Seattle next week and I'm looking forward to that one. I really enjoy going there. The dirt is a little different in Seattle; a little more sandy and usually will rut up and deteriorate a bit. I look forward to getting there next week and putting in another solid ride."

Supercross results: 1 James Stewart (Yamaha), 2 Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Suzuki), 3 Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki), 4 Chad Reed (Honda), 5 Trey Canard (Honda), 6 Kevin Windham (Honda), 7 Davi Millsaps (Yamaha), 8 Ivan Tedesco (Kawasaki), 9 Austin Stroupe (Yamaha), 10 Andrew Short (KTM).

Championship points (after 14 rounds): CLICK HERE