The Repsol Honda Team Begins To Adapt To The New Asphalt In Indianapolis

Indianapolis Grand Prix

MotoGP Round 12 : Indianapolis circuit, 26-28 August

Date : 26/08/2011
**Weather **: Dry
**Temperature **: Air: 25 degrees, Ground: 32 degrees
**Humidity **: 25%

The Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix kicked off this morning at the legendary Motor Speedway with Casey Stoner in second position on the time sheets, Andrea Dovizioso, seventh, and Dani Pedrosa, tenth, after the first free practice. It was the first contact for the Repsol Honda riders with the new asphalt and the lack of grip seems to be the biggest issue with setting up the bike, although the track conditions - with a ground temperature of 32 degrees in the morning, will hopefully improve throughout the day especially after the Moto2 first practice, when more rubber is laid down on the asphalt.

CASEY STONER - 2nd 1'43.552
"This morning was a little frustrating, the track conditions weren't very good, it was very slippery and it was difficult to find any grip. It was pointless trying to find a set up with the track like this as it was worse than with the bumps in previous years. Hopefully by this afternoon there will be some more rubber laid down on the track and things will improve. We also had some issues with chattering in the hard braking corners, so we'll need to work on that in FP2".

ANDREA DOVIZIOSO - 5th 1'44.551
"The track was dirty this morning and it was difficult to find grip, so there was no meaning to work on the set up or test tyres. It was like riding in the wet, keeping the same tyre and taking more risks every lap. The main issue is in the rear, especially entering the corners. I'm confident that the conditions will improve, I hope so. This afternoon I would like also to try the hard front tyre as it's very hot out there."

DANI PEDROSA - 10th 1'45.192
"We have had many problems with the grip. The quality of the new asphalt is disappointing, not what a World Championship circuit deserves. There is no grip and the level is very irregular. The worst thing is the entrance of the corner; you can control the acceleration with the throttle, but entering the corner there is no traction at all. Now, all we can do is to adapt as best we can to the track because I think it will not change very much. This morning we had the same problems from the first lap to the last. Therefore, we must be smart, find the setting that allows us to go faster and hopefully with more rubber on the track, maybe the conditions will improve a little, but now it's hard to say. We have to forget this and concentrate on doing our best under these conditions".

Practice Results

1 Ben Spies 1'43.260 USA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
2 Casey Stoner 1'43.552 AUS HONDA Repsol Honda Team
3 Colin Edwards 1'43.574 USA YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
4 Marco Simoncelli 1'43.582 ITA HONDA San Carlo Honda Gresini
5 Nicky Hayden 1'44.236 USA DUCATI Ducati Marlboro Team
6 Valentino Rossi 1'44.362 ITA DUCATI Ducati Marlboro Team
7 Andrea Dovizioso 1'44.551 ITA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
8 Hector Barbera 1'45.026 SPA DUCATI Paginas Amarillas Aspar
9 Jorge Lorenzo 1'45.065 SPA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
10 Dani Pedrosa 1'45.192 SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
11 Alvaro Bautista 1'45.249 SPA SUZUKI Rizla Suzuki MotoGP
12 Cal Crutchlow 1'45.368 GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
13 Randy De Puniet 1'45.577 FRA DUCATI Pramac Racing
14 Hiroshi Aoyama 1'46.159 JPN HONDA San Carlo Honda Gresini
15 Loris Capirossi 1'46.484 ITA DUCATI Pramac Racing
16 Karel Abraham 1'46.643 CZE DUCATI Cardion AB Motoracing
17 Toni Elias 1'47.507 SPA HONDA LCR Honda MotoGP

Circuit information

First race 2008
GPs held 3
Laps 28
Race distance 118.1km / 73.4miles
Track length 4.216km / 2.62miles
Track width 16m
Longest straight 0.644km / 0.4miles
Corners 16 (6 right, 10 left)
Pole position Left

4790 West 16th Street
IN 46222


Circuit records

Pole position 1m 39.730s (152.186 Km/h) Dani Pedrosa (Honda, 2009)
Race lap 1m 40.152 (151.545 Km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2009)
Race time 47m 13.592 (149.976 Km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2009)
MotoGP Wins 1 (Valentino Rossi 2008), 1 (Jorge Lorenzo 2009), 1 (Dani Pedrosa 2010)
2010 Winner Dani Pedrosa (Honda)