Reed Breaks Through To Take His First Win Of The Season

Indianapolis, Indiana - Reigning World/AMA Supercross Champion Chad Reed has recorded his first win of the season at the ninth round of the 2009 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship Series at Indiana's Lucas Oil Stadium tonight.

The 61,000 strong crowd at the inaugural race inside Lucas Oil Stadium were rewarded with the epic battle that had been threatening to erupt between Reed and championship rival James Stewart in previous rounds, with the duo displaying some fierce neck-and-neck racing throughout the 'Main Event'.

After seven consecutive second places, Reed finally ended his rival's winning streak with a thrilling victory that saw the defending champion take the holeshot and lead for 18 of the 20 race laps.

"I knew that if I had a good start I could give myself a chance," said Reed. "James (Stewart) has been riding awesome, and I want to take that next step. He (James) made a mistake and I was there to capitalise and regain the lead.

"It has been frustrating to say the least. I felt that I was good enough to win races at the beginning of the season but just didn't get any breaks. The last couple of races I have made good starts but I wasn't riding comfortably, thankfully it finally all came together for me tonight.

"The one thing Mum and Dad taught me was to never give up and that philosophy really paid off in this race," Reed acknowledged.

The Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider was joined on the podium by Stewart and teammate Mike Alessi who celebrated his first ever Supercross class podium after finishing third.

Reed will now prepare for the tenth round of the series at Daytona's 200 Week and once again finds himself tied with Stewart on points at the top of the championship order.

AMA Supercross Results, Indianapolis

**1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Suzuki **
2. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha
3. Mike Alessi, Apple Valley, Calif., Suzuki
4. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha
5. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda
6. Ben Coisy, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
7. Davi Millsaps, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda
8. Michael Byrne, Newnan, Ga., Suzuki
9. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
10. Timmy Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki

AMA Supercross Season Standings

**1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Suzuki, 199 **
2. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha, 199
3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 150
4. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 138
5. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 138
6. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahasse, Fla., Honda, 132
7. Davi Millsaps, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 116
8. Mike Alessi, Apple Valley, Calif., Suzuki, 113
9. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 112
10. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 98