Pro Stock Motorcycle Results From the Lucas Oil Nationals

Andrew Hines closes in on Number 1 teammate at Brainerd.

Andrew Hines on the Screamin' Eagle Vance and Hines Harley-Davidsdon
Andrew Hines on the Screamin' Eagle Vance and Hines Harley-Davidson©Motorcyclist

Andrew Hines posted a perfect .000 reaction time in the final round to defeat alligator farmer Jerry Savoie in the Pro Stock Motorcycle final round. Hines' 6.866 at 194.94, along with the perfect reaction time, on his Screamin' Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson was enough for a holeshot victory against Savoie's 6.863 at 194.88 on his White Alligator Racing Suzuki. This is Hines' fourth win of the season, 46th of his career, and third at Brainerd Int'l Raceway. He rode past veteran Steve Johnson, Cory Reed, and Hector Arana Jr. in the earlier rounds.

Hines raises the Wally
With his latest win, Hines closes to within 42 points of teammate Eddie Krawiec in the top spot.©Motorcyclist

“I was definitely a little nervous because we came here with the intentions of preparing for the Countdown,” said Hines, the winningest Pro Stock Motorcycle racer in NHRA history. “We put brand-new tires on the bike, which turned out, in hindsight, to be a very bad decision because the track is so good here. We were battling with the tune-up on Friday. We just pecked away at it all weekend. We took our chance at it in the final round, put an old tire back on it, and it went nice and straight. I was pressing it because I knew I needed an advantage over Jerry.”

Angelle Sampey at Brainerd
Summernationals winner Angelle Sampey was the low ET qualifier at Brainerd. She lost in round 2 to finalist Jerry Savoie.©Motorcyclist

Savoie, who has three runner-up finishes this season, rode past Scotty Pollacheck, number 1 qualifier and Englishtown winner Angelle Sampey, and Eddie Krawiec in the first three rounds.

The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series will continue in Indianapolis, Aug. 31-Sept. 5, with the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis for the final race of the regular season. Below are the PSM Championship points standings going into Indy.

NHRA Mello Yello Championship Points Standings
1. Eddie Krawiec, Harley-Davidson (898)
2. Andrew Hines, Harley-Davidson (856)
3. Angelle Sampey, Buell (659)
4. Jerry Savoie, Suzuki (651)
5. LE Tonglet, Suzuki (522)
6. Hector Arana Sr., Buell (459)
7. Chip Ellis, Buell (454)
8. Matt Smith, Victory (402)
9. Hector Arana Jr., Buell (386)
10. Steve Johnson, Suzuki (331)