NHRA Summit Nationals Pro Stock Motorcycle Results

Screaming’ Eagle Vance and Hines Harley teammates meet in final-round showdown at Summit Racing Motorsports Park.

2016 Summit Nationals Pro Stock Motorcycle
The Screamin' Eagle Vance and Hines team rolled both bikes into the winner's circle but it was team Krawiec on the right who took home the NHRA Wally.©Motorcyclist

Pro Stock Motorcycle racer Eddie Krawiec won his third race of 2016 when he defeated his Screamin' Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson teammate Andrew Hines in the final. Krawiec, who was also the No. 1 qualifier, had a winning run of 6.926 at 194.72 to defeat Hines, who recorded a 6.937 at 193.29. Krawiec's path to victory was eventful because he went off the end of the track and into the sand trap following both his semifinal- and final-round runs.

Eddie Krawiec
Eddie Krawiec on a Saturday qualifying pass at Summit.©Motorcyclist

Krawiec made it past Chip Ellis (PiranaZ Buell), Hector Arana (Lucas Oil Buell) and Jerry Savoie (Savoie Alligator Farm Suzuki) to make it into the final heat. His teammate and final-round opponent Hines met up with recent Summernationals winner Angelle Sampey in the third eliminator. In what was promising to be a good match turned into a bye for Hines as Sampey's bike failed to shift for the second time during the weekend. On the same run, Hines locked up his rear tire past the finish line and ended the run in the sand trap.

Krawiec also ended up in the sand trap in his round-three defeat of Savoie.

“We went back to the pit and had to take out 30 pounds of pea gravel,” said Krawiec. “We put new brake pads on it, checked the fluid, drained everything, and made sure it was 100 percent. We stopped fine in the lanes and everything. I see my fourth-round win light against my teammate and went, ‘Not again’. I pulled the clutch in and went in for a ride.”

In a classic Harley-vs.-Harley final-round showdown, Krawiec and Hines both launched with identical .019-second reaction times.

2016 Summit Nationals Pro Stock Motorcycle final round
The teammates launched into the final round with identical reaction times, but it was Krawiec who pulled it out with a 6.926-second pass at 194.72 mph to Hines losing 6.937 at 193.29.©Motorcyclist

Krawiec pulled out a small lead in the first half of the track and Hines ate into that lead on the top end. But it was Krawiec who tripped the final win light before once again going off the end of the track. This time he was slowed enough that he only went a few feet in, but once again it was buried to the wheel hubs. The win is Krawiec's 34th, in 60 final rounds and third win this season in four final-round appearances.

Pro Stock Motorcycle Points Standings (following the fifth of 16 events)
1. Eddie Krawiec, Brownsburg, Ind., Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson (557)
2. Andrew Hines, Brownsburg, Ind., Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson (391-tie)
2. Jerry Savoie, Cut Off, La., Savoie's Alligator Farm Suzuki (391-tie)
4. Angelle Sampey, Mathews, La., Precision Service Equipment Buell (372)
5. Chip Ellis, Brownsburg, Ind., PiranaZ Buell (300)
6. Hector Arana Sr., Milltown, Ind., Lucas Oil Buell (291)
7. LE Tonglet, Metairie, La., Nitro Fish Suzuki (253)
8. Matt Smith, King, N.C., Nitro Fish Victory (192)
9. Scotty Pollacheck, Central Point, Ore., Petrolhead Apparel Buell (183)
10. Steve Johnson, Irondale, Ala., RaceTheVote Suzuki (179)