Trey Canard Makes His 2012 Supercross Return at Chase Field

[Torrance, CA: The second round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship series took place in sunny Phoenix, AZ, this weekend. After a successful season opener, the Honda teams were ready to get under way at Chase Field Stadium.

This was an exciting week for Team Honda Muscle Milk, with the return of rider Trey Canard who missed the opening round in Anaheim while recovering from an earlier injury. "I am excited to be here, and I'm excited to be riding," said Canard. "It is a bummer for me because I am not right up with the guys that I normally compete with, but overall it was a very successful weekend." He rode a respectable race, finishing in seventh place in both his heat and the main event. Canard's teammate Justin Brayton had a successful heat race, finishing second. Early in the main event, Brayton got tangled up and fell to the back of the pack, but he made up a few positions to finish 14th.

GEICO Honda's Kevin Windham had a notable race, getting a good start in the main and running third most of the way. He eventually was passed by Villopoto but maintained a fourth-place finish. Racing's Andrew Short had another successful weekend, starting with his holeshot and second-place finish in heat one to his sixth-place finish in the main. He was edged out of fifth place after battling with fellow Honda rider Chad Reed with TwoTwo Motorsports.

After setting top lap times during his heat race, GEICO Honda's Eli Tomac got a less than desirable start in the main. Tomac put in an inspiring ride, making his way from 15th to fourth. Along the way he battled with Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda Racing's Travis Baker and Cole Seely. After Baker went down, Seely and Tomac moved past more riders and charged hard for the podium but ran out of time, leaving Tomac in fourth, ahead of Seely who ended up fifth.

Supercross Class Overall Results **
1. Ryan Dungey
2. Jake Weimer
3. Ryan Villopoto
**4. Kevin Windham (Honda)

5. Chad Reed (Honda)
6. Andrew Short (Honda)
7. Trey Canard (Honda)
8. James Stewart
9. Brett Metcalfe
10. Josh Hansen

Supercross Class Championship Points **
1. Ryan Dungey - 45
2. Ryan Villopoto - 45
**3. Chad Reed - 38

4. Jake Weimer - 38
5. Kevin Windham - 31
6. Andrew Short - 29
7. James Stewart - 28
8. Justin Brayton - 25
9. Josh Hansen - 22
10. Brett Metcalfe - 22

Lites Class Overall Results **
1. Dean Wilson
2. Marvin Musquin
3. Tyla Rattray
**4. Eli Tomac (Honda)

5. Cole Seely (Honda)
6. Zach Osborne
7. Jason Anderson
8. Nico Izzi
9. Max Anstie (Honda)
10. Travis Baker (Honda)

Lites Class Championship Points **
1. Tyla Rattray - 42
**2. Cole Seely - 41

3. Dean Wilson - 40
4. Marvin Musquin - 40
5. Eli Tomac - 38
6. Jason Anderson - 28
7. Zach Osborne - 27
8. Travis Baker - 22
9. Nico Izzi - 22
10. Max Anstie - 17

About Honda
American Honda Motor Co., Inc. is the sole distributor of Honda motorcycles, scooters, ATVs and MUVs in the U.S. American Honda's Motorcycle Division conducts the sales, marketing, and operational activities for these products through authorized Honda dealers. For more information on Honda products, go to ****.

(c)2012 American Honda Motor Co., Inc. All Rights Reserved.