Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour 2013 Schedule Announced

Red Bull press release:

The Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour will expand to Japan and South Africa,
joining Mexico City, Dubai, Glen Helen (California) and Madrid

Santa Monica (December 17, 2012) - New Zealand’s Levi Sherwood will be looking to defend his Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour championship title in an expanded 2013 tour after prevailing against Thomas Pages of France in the most riveting battle in the 12-year history of the world’s most prestigious and progressive freestyle motocross competition. The Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour will be going to the four corners of the planet next year with new stops in Osaka, Japan and Pretoria, South Africa. Japan is represented by two star athletes in the series - Eigo Sato and Takayuki Higashino.

The soaring popularity of the sport in Asia and Africa has prompted the expansion of the World Tour to Japan and South Africa. The locations on Dubai’s sandy beaches, in Madrid’s Las Ventas bullfighting arena and on Glen Helen Raceway’s cavernous track in Southern California, will be back on the calendar as well. The sport, which features the world’s top riders pushing the laws of physics with their motorcycles, will also return to Mexico City, a host for six years for the first time since 2010.

Sherwood, 21, was the youngest champion in the history of Red Bull X-Fighters in 2012, winning three of the five stops but needing a victory in the season finale in Sydney, Australia against his hard-charging rival Pages. The Frenchman turned the world of FMX on its head in the second half of the season with a breathtaking array of new tricks that pushed the sport to the next level. Pages finished a close second, just 20 points behind Sherwood’s 335 points, while the 2011 champion, Dany Torres of Spain, was third. Chile’s Javier Villegas claimed a career-best fourth while Japan’s Eigo Sato took fifth.

2013 Red Bull X-Fighters Schedule:
March 8, Mexico City (MEX)
April 12, Dubai (UAE)
May 11, Glen Helen (USA)
June 1, Osaka (JPN)
July 19, Madrid (ESP)
August 31, Pretoria (RSA)

For more information, visit