Millsaps almost wins at Salt Lake City

JGRMXs Davi Millsaps led for virtually the entire main event at the ¬Rice-Eccles Stadium in Salt Lake City for the penultimate round of the AMA SX series but missed out his first victory on the YZ450F after running into backmarkers with two laps remaining. In front of more than 40,000 spectators the 24 year old was unlucky to miss the top step and was pipped to the line by Ryan Dungey.

Millsaps was quick across the layout for the sixteenth race of the campaign and won his heat race as well as setting the quickest time. With a clear goal to try and obtain his maiden triumph in blue and further cement his second position in the SX class standings he grabbed the holeshot and proceeded to show his rivals his rear wheel for most of the 20 lap distance.

Only an error entering the last two circulations provided Dungey with the momentum to snare the 25 points. Millsaps finished second but was able to see Justin Brayton take fourth which provides a seven point cushion going to Las Vegas for the season closer next weekend.

"I know it was close and honestly it was down to traffic, said Millsaps after his fourth podium celebration of 2012. It really sucks because we've all been working so hard to make this happen and we almost had it. But the good news is that, even though the championship hasn't really ever been possible for me, I'm one round away from clinching second, which would be the best me or my team has ever done. So, let's go to Vegas!"

The Sam Boyd Stadium will host the last Supercross meeting of 2012 next Saturday.

2012 AMA-SX United States

Rice-Eccles Stadium 30/04/2012 20 Laps

race I

1. Ryan Dungey KTM USA 15'56.144
2. David D Millsaps Yamaha USA **0'01.494 **
3. Jake Weimer Kawasaki USA 0'06.845
4. Justin Brayton Honda USA 0'19.925
5. Mike Alessi Suzuki USA 0'23.386
6. Broc Tickle Kawasaki USA 0'26.892
7. Andrew Short Honda USA 0'40.324
8. Josh Grant Kawasaki USA 0'46.997
9. Robert Kiniry Yamaha USA **0'54.159 **
10. Tyler Bowers Kawasaki USA -1Laps
11. Matthew Goerke Suzuki USA -1Laps
12. Weston Peick Yamaha USA **-1Laps **
13. Nicholas Wey Kawasaki USA -1Laps
14. Gavin Faith Yamaha USA -1Laps
15. Jason Thomas Suzuki USA -1Laps

AMA-SX World Standing

Rider Standings After Race 16 of 17

1. Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki USA 323
**2. **David D Millsaps**** Yamaha USA 244
3. Justin Brayton Honda USA 237
4. Ryan Dungey KTM USA 232
5. Jake Weimer Kawasaki USA 211
Mike Alessi Suzuki USA 192
7. James Stewart Yamaha USA 178
8. Brett Metcalfe Suzuki AUS 174
9. Kevin Windham Honda USA 166
10. Broc Tickle Kawasaki USA 161
11. Kyle Chisholm Kawasaki USA 143
12. Chad Reed Honda USA 128
13. Andrew Short Honda USA 114
14. Nicholas Wey Kawasaki USA 105
15. Robert Kiniry Yamaha USA 91
16. Josh Hansen Kawasaki USA 89
17. Weston Peick Yamaha USA 86
24. Nico Izzi Yamaha USA 31
26. Gavin Faith Yamaha USA 31
37. Ryan Morais Yamaha USA 7
44. Ben Lamay Yamaha USA 2

Circuit Length:

40, 548


Last Years Winner:
Ryan Villopoto


Manufacturer Standings


1. Kawasaki 363
2. Honda 322
3. Yamaha 298
4. KTM 286
5. Suzuki 231