Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain to compete in the Dakar 2012

Traditionally the first major motorsport event of the new year is the Rally Dakar. So again in 2012, when around 190 motorcycle racers begin their 8,364 kilometer long adventure across South America. This time the route leads from Mar del Plata in Argentina through Chile all the way to Peru?s capital Lima. The German Speedbrain team, a newcomer during the past Dakar, returns for the 2012 edition with five riders and official factory support coming from Husqvarna. Team principal Wolfgang Fischer and crew have developed a rally racer based on the Husqvarna TE 449, which will be steered by David Fretigne (FRA), Paulo Goncalves (POR), Ze Helio (BRA), Ike Klaumann (BRA) and Joan Barreda (SPA), forming a mixture of experience and youth. Because of the 450cc capacity limit that has been implemented in 2011, the upcoming Rally Dakar sees a variety of manufacturers and potential winners like never before. The Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain aims at putting their "Husqvarna TE 449 RR by Speedbrain" machine on the podium. The new bike and the team riders were introduced to the media at the present motorcyle show in Paris.

The Dakar 2012 kicks off on 1 January and ends after 14 stages and one rest day on 15 January.

The Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain will provide daily race updates starting on 1 January 2012.