Honda Earns 22nd Overall Baja 1000 Motorcycle Victory

Torrance, CA: The Johnny Campbell Racing Team of Kendall Norman, Quinn Cody and Logan Holladay sealed another chapter in Baja racing history this past weekend by securing the overall victory in the 44th Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 desert race. Armed with the No. 1x JCR Honda Racing CRF450X, the three riders covered the exceptionally rough and rugged 705-mile course in the fastest time of all 278 starters in the race to give Honda its 22nd overall motorcycle win in the world-famous Baja 1000 race, and also its 15th consecutive victory. It was the sixth overall career Baja 1000 win for Norman and his fifth straight, while Cody picked up his fourth career Baja 1000 overall motorcycle victory and his third straight. For Holladay, a Hollywood stunt rider, it was his first SCORE Baja race win.

After the race, JCR Honda team owner Johnny Campbell said, "It was a long day. It was really rough and I was happy to be in the air with the helicopter and not on the ground riding the bike because it was really rough. All the guys did a really good job and it was a tough race. It was very, very rough."

Nine of the top 10 motorcycle finishers rode Hondas, including the Johnny Campbell Racing second support team of Colton Udall, David Kamo and Timmy Weigand on a CRF450X, who trailed behind the winners by a scant 17 minutes. This strong finish earned Udall the SCORE championship for the season. In the ATV classes, the first overall ATV and Class 25 winner was the team led by veteran Wayne Matlock on a Honda TRX700XX, while the winner of the ATV Class 24 (and second overall ATV finisher) was the team led by Brandon Brown on a Honda TRX450R.

American Honda Announces More 2012 Models - ATV Rider Magazine