Clement Desalle Leads World MX1 Championship

The Grand Prix of Bulgaria at Sevlievo witnessed an amazing start to the FIM Motocross World Championship for Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1 as Clement Desalle celebrated his fourth career victory on the factory RM-Z450 - and grabbed the lead in the 2011 series.

The Belgian finished 2nd and 1st in two windy and chilly motos at the open and fast circuit; winning the second race after a tense and entertaining tussle with Steven Frossard.

Desalle picked up the red plate as World Championship leader after two progressively-steady rides at the front of the field. He pulled through from third spot in the opening chase of 35 minutes and 2 laps - run across a hard-pack terrain in which lap-times were very tight - to leader Frossard, without getting close enough to attack.

His runner-up finish - in spite of a last lap off-track excursion - set-up a good stage for the second moto, that began exquisitely with the holeshot and then several juicy-laps of action with Frossard.

Desalle swiftly despatched the closing Jonathan Barragan and when Frossard made a mistake and slipped off, the 21 year old had the advantage and defended it to the flag. It was the second success in-a-row for the works team after Desalle also triumphed at the final grand prix of 2010 in Italy.

Team-mate Steve Ramon entered the weekend feeling the after-effects of Flu and was unable to gel with the track, both on Saturday and Sunday. The former World Champion suffered with arm-pump in the first moto and took 10th and collected 12th in the second for 12th overall.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1 now has two weeks until round two and the Grand Prix of the Netherlands at the Valkenswaard circuit near Eindhoven.

**Clement Desalle - 1st: **
"I am very happy and it is very cool to win, but this is the first grand prix and the season is very long. I made a mistake at the end of the first race because I changed my line, thinking towards the second moto. The take-off was different and I landed completely off the track. I don't think I could have done another lap because the back brake was already gone. Steven rode very well and very fast all day and it was good to take the win."

**Steve Ramon - 12th: **
"I had the same problem today as Saturday; especially in the first moto with the arm-pump. It was not possible to push and the track was not easy. I've been sick since Wednesday and I could feel in my muscles that I was not fully-fit. We struggled a little with the set-up so overall I did the best that I could. I guess I was not the only one with problems because Cairoli passed me and he wasn't lapping much faster. It was a bad day but also some damage limitation. Onto the next one!"

MX1 Moto1: 1. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 38:47.398; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1), +0:08.044; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:19.535; 4. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:23.876; 5. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:42.423; 6. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +0:44.452; 7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:48.293; 8. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:49.798; 9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:55.906; **10. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1), +1:04.730. **

MX1 Moto2: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1), 39:21.139; 2. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), +0:01.222; 3. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +0:13.352; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:19.955; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:22.354; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:23.603; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:26.653; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:30.906; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), +0:33.340; 10. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:33.861. **12. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1), +0:43.285. **

MX1 Overall result and World Championship standings: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1), 47 points; 2. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 47 p.; 3. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 35 p.; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 35 p.; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 29 p.; 6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 27 p.; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 26 p.; 8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Kawasaki), 26 p.; 9. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 25 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 25 p. **12. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1), 20 p. **