AMA Dirt-Track Racer Everett Brashear Inducted into MSHFA

Motorsports Hall of Fame of America honors 15-time dirt-track winner and 6 other motorsports luminaries during the 2016 induction ceremony.

Everett Brashear bike
Everett Brashear joins 6 other motorsports luminaries being inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.Photo Courtesy Motorsports Hall of Fame of America

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Everett Brashear, one of the top dirt-track motorcycle racers of all time, was one of seven motorsports luminaries inducted into Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) at the 28th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone on June 29 at The Shores Resort & Spa in Daytona Beach.

Brashear won a total of 15 AMA national races from 1952-1960. He won four of those races in 1953, before a severe injury cut short a potential championship campaign.

When he retired from competition, Brashear immersed himself in other areas of the motorcycle industry, working for Harley-Davidson , Triumph , Yamaha and Kawasaki . In all, he spent 47 years in the industry. Brashear was inducted into the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in 1988.

Everett Brashear Trophy
Everett Brashear won 15 AMA national races from 1952-1960.Photo Courtesy Motorsports Hall of Fame of America

Brashear also tried his hand in motorcycle road racing, finishing sixth in the 1964 Daytona 200. And he briefly considered NASCAR and Indy Car as well; he made one NASCAR start, finishing 38th in the 1957 race on the Daytona Beach-Road Course.

"Motorcycle racers are a different breed," said Ron Watson, president of the MSHFA, "and Everett Brashear's competitors considered him the toughest of the tough. Ask any of the two-wheeled heroes in the hall of fame and they will tell you, unanimously, that Everett's induction is well-earned."

Brashear joins Richard Childress, Gary Gabelich, Chip Ganassi, Dave McClelland, Sam Posey and Bob Sweikert in the illustrious 2016 inductee class that collectively represents motorcycles, stock cars, sports cars, open-wheel, drag racing and speed-record competition.

For more information on the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, its history, and inductees, visit .