Carlos Checa takes Ducati's 300th World Superbike race victory

Silverstone, United Kingdom - 31 July, 2011

Carlos Checa’s victory at Silverstone’s round 9 of the 2011 World Superbike series in the UK on Sunday protected his lead in the Riders’ championship, maintained Ducati’s advantage in the Manufacturers’ title and marked an incredible 300 race win milestone for the famous Italian motorcycle brand from Bologna.

Racing under Team Althea colors, Carlos Checa scored his 9th victory of 2011 aboard the Ducati 1198, underlining the Spaniard’s incredible form this year, the outstanding performance of his team and the continued competitiveness of Ducati’s iconic twin-cylinder production sport bike.

Checa now enjoys a confident 50 point lead over Max Biaggi for the World Championship, while Ducati lead the race for the Manufacturers’ title by 330 points.

Ducati’s historic achievement of 300 race wins in the World Superbike Championship started with victory for Marco Lucchinelli in the very first event at Donington Park, England in 1988 and continued as 25 more Ducati-mounted riders wrote themselves into the pages of motorcycle racing history. Riders such as Carl Fogarty, Doug Polen, Raymond Roche, Troy Corser, Giancarlo Falappa, Neil Hodgson, Piefrancesco Chili, Ben Bostrom, James Toseland, Noriyuki Haga and many others up until the legendary Troy Bayliss and latest World Championship leader, Carlos Checa.

To complete the impressive collection of statistics, those 300 victories also generated 155 Ducati pole positions, 753 podiums, 13 Rider’s and 16 Manufacturers’ World Championship titles.

Ducati results in World Superbike 1988 - 2011 (Silverstone, United Kingdom - 31 July, 2011)
Total Ducati pole positions: 155
Race victories by Ducati riders: 300

Carl Fogarty (GB) 55
Troy Bayliss (AUS) 52
Doug Polen (USA) 26
Raymond Roche (F) 23
Troy Corser (AUS) 16
Neil Hodgson (GB) 16
Noriyuki Haga (JP) 16
Pierfrancesco Chili (I) 13
Giancarlo Falappa (I) 13
Carlos Checa (ES) 12
Ruben Xaus (ES) 11
Régis Laconi (F) 10
Ben Bostrom (USA) 7
John Kocinski (USA) 5
James Toseland (GB) 5
Michel Fabrizio (I) 4
Lorenzo Lanzi (I) 3
Shane Byrne (GB) 2
Mauro Lucchiari (I) 2
Marco Lucchinelli (I) 2
Stephane Mertens (B) 2
Anthony Gobert (AUS) 1
Garry McCoy (AUS) 1
Andreas Meklau (A) 1
John Reynolds (GB) 1
James Whitham (GB) 1

Total World Superbike Riders’ titles with Ducati: 13

Carl Fogarty (GB) 4
Troy Bayliss (AUS) 3
Doug Polen (USA) 2
Troy Corser (AUS) 1
James Toseland (GB) 1
Raymond Roche (F) 1
Neil Hodgson (GB) 1

Total World Superbike Manufacturers’ titles for Ducati: 16
1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2009

Enjoyed this Post? Subscribe to our RSS Feed, or use your favorite social media to recommend us to friends and colleagues!

*Please enter your username

*Please enter your password

*Please enter your comments
Not Registered?Signup Here
(1024 character limit)
  • Motorcyclist Online